loader image

Leveraged Breakdowns

Home Forums Career Guidance Advice for a late career bloomer looking to get into REPE in the UK.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Charlie
    Participant

Hi Lev,

First of all let me state how upset I am that I’m discovering your website now, and not a month ago. It seems perfect for someone in my situation.

A bit about myself:

I graduated in 2018 from a target uni in London (LSE, UCL, Kings, Imperial) in a degree in Planning and Real Estate. At graduation I wasn’t 100% sure what I wanted to do, so I worked for a year at a certain real estate data company (rhymes with crowbar). During that year, and reflecting on the finance modules I had taken at uni, I changed jobs and started working for a very small development finance firm, specializing in mezzanine finance. COVID hit them hard and I was furloughed for a long period of time which lead to me to taking a job at a commercial bank in real estate finance as an analyst, which is where I am currently working.

I recently applied for an analyst program at a REPE firm here in London, mid-size, fairly reputable with £10bn AUM. To my surprise, I have been selected for a phone interview, which is tomorrow. I have spent the last weeks preparing for this and feel that I am in a good place to at least get past this stage. My main concern is the technical side of the process. The program is advertised as entry level and from what I can gather (looking people up on Linkedin) the current analyst pool do not appear to have the 2 years IB or even brokerage experience. They have asked that people have basic modelling skills (as oppose to the usual “excellent”) and there will be a modelling test after the phone interview stage. The program takes 6 analysts a year and is sold as a “3 year structured program where analysts get to work across all disciplines in REPE”.

I was wondering if you could offer me some advice on the following: