loader image

Leveraged Breakdowns

Home Forums Career Guidance Management consultant aiming to make a career switch

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    REPE enthusiast
    Participant

Hi Lev,

First of all thank you very much for the great work in the website.

A bit about myself:

I graduated from a top business school in Europe with an MS in Management (pre-MBA course) and an earlier degree in Economics from the UK and worked as a management consultant in the Middle East with one of the top firms in the industry (Oliver Wyman, Strategy&, AT Kearney, LEK) for 3 years and got excellent reviews. I have done a fair bit of financial modeling and i’m used to learning new industries fast and working long hours. I decided to leave consulting to take a gap year, travel and prepare myself for generalist Private Equity interviews, when I realized i’m only interested in REPE. I just turned 29. My goal is to break into a mid-market REPE firm in London on the acquisitions side as an Analyst/Senior Analyst and eventually become an investor as a Partner with the fund. The prospect of doing deals vs solely advising (as we do in consulting) thrills me. I’ve been operating an Airbnb villa for the past 4 years, I also own other commercial space and my family has been earning a living solely through Real Estate for generations now so essentially Real Estate runs through the family, but i don’t have much more RE experience than that. I’m almost through with your courses and i’ll be as proficient as I can be in terms of investment underwriting, based on the material that you have created.

My questions are the following

1. Will the gap year hurt my chances of getting into REPE for an Analyst/Senior Analyst position?
    2. I would think my 3-year experience as a consultant could be valued VS a fresh undergrad (given i’d go for the Analyst role) so I’d like to understand what your thoughts are on this?